The Sydney Sixers open up their BBL 06 campaign tonight against cross town rivals the Sydney Thunder tonight in what promises to be a cracking contest full of excitement!
Looking to improve on just two wins in last year’s BBL tournament, the Sixers have injected new faces into the squad over the off-season in the hope that fresh faces bring a fresh approach to the club.
With impressive batting performances against the Bangladesh Cricket Board XI and Hong Kong, the boys in Magenta are brimming with confidence and would love to kick the season off in style with a win against the Sydney Thunder (a side the Sixers failed to beat in BBL 05).
The reigning champion Sydney Thunder are a very good side that have all the weapons in place to cause teams issues once again in BBL 06. Pat Cummins fresh off his successful stint in Australia’s one day series victory over New Zealand will be keen to get his name amongst the wickets, whilst big hitting all-rounder Shane Watson is never far away from the action.
Spotless Stadium at Olympic Park has been sold out for weeks and the atmosphere promises to be electric for this Sydney Smash clash.

Sixers player to watch: One of the biggest coups for the Sixers organisation in the off-season was the prized signing of England International Jason Roy. Roy is a specialised T20 and ODI player that is a strong hitter of the ball and an excellent fielder. With 32 ODI’s and 16 T20I’s next to his name, Roy at 26 is one of the most experienced players in the Sixers set up and this experience will be invaluable during his five matches with the club.
Roy’s big hitting ability is something that the Sixers have lacked in recent years so no doubt Sydney Sixers fans both at Spotless Stadium and at home will be willing him to hit a few on the rope come Tuesday Night!

Last match: Sydney Sixers 4-210 (Hughes 67* (33) & Billings 53 (34) defeated Hong Kong 6-119 (O’Keefe 2 wickets) by 91-runs.

Last meeting: Sydney Thunder 5-202 (Shane Watson 66 off 41 balls, Sean Abbott 2-41 from four overs) defeated Sydney Sixers 156 (Nic Maddinson 70 off 40 balls, Clint McKay 3-16 off 2.3 overs) by 46-runs.
The Thunder won the most recent Sydney Smash at the SCG last season which was played in front of a crowd of more than 38,000 which was a record for a domestic cricket match in Sydney. Shane Watson played a masterful innings and was backed up by the Thunder bowlers who did enough to record the 46-run victory.
The Thunder also won the corresponding fixture at Spotless Stadium last season by 36-runs in the opening match for BBL 05.

The squad:

#21 Moises Henriques (C), Brad Haddin (WK), Sean Abbott, Sam Billings, Doug Bollinger, Johan Botha, Ben Dwarshuis, Daniel Hughes, Joe Mennie, Stephen O’Keefe, Jason Roy, Jordan Silk , Henry Thornton

Match details are:

Sydney Thunder v Sydney Sixers

Tuesday 20 December, 2016

Spotless Stadium – 7.40pm Live on Channel Ten from 7pm.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s