Northern District captures Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup



Northern District has won the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup with a thrilling three-run win over Mosman at The Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday.

In a nail-biting finale, Mosman finished on 7-151 chasing Northern District’s 6-154.

Earlier on it was Northern District opening batsman and Sydney Sixers squad member Daniel Hughes that led the way with a brilliant innings of 82 from 62 balls.

Hughes’s inning included six fours and one six. It continued a brilliant season for Hughes who has amassed an impressive 361 runs at an average of 120.33 in all Grade competitions with a lowest score of 43.

Hughes combined well for the first wicket with fellow opener Neil Kimberley (47 from 39 balls) as they added 85. However some accurate bowling from Mosman restricted Northern District to a total that was achievable.

Hughes’s Sydney Sixers team mate Johan Botha continued his preparation for BBL 06 with excellent figures of 2-19 off four fours.

Botha wasn’t done having a say in the match. He excelled with the bat as Mosman attempted to run down Northern District’s total.

Unfortunately for Botha and Mosman they fell three runs short in a thrilling chase. Botha scored quickly and was dismissed for 81 from 55 balls including eight fours and three sixes.

This followed up Botha’s 46 in the Preliminary Final which took his T20 run total to 347 runs from six matches and saw him go past team mate Scott Rodgie into first place in the run scorers list in the tournament.

Tom Felton, 2-20 from four overs, and Mitch Coombs, 2-24 from four overs, slowed the Mosman chase and were standouts with the ball.

Earlier in the day, Northern District qualified for the final with a convincing 41-run win over Parramatta. Daniel Hughes was again the mastermind with 64 from 53 balls, whilst Jonathan Whealing top scored with 71 from 52 balls including three fours and four sixes powering Northern District to 4-172 from its 20 overs.

Chasing quick runs, Parramatta lost wickets at regular intervals and was bundled out for 131 in the 18th over. Northern District bowlers Matthew Phillips, 3-14 from three overs, and NSW Blues squad member Harry Conway, 2-34 from four overs, did the lion’s share of the damage.

Mosman had booked a spot in the final with a nail biting ten-run win against Sydney in its Preliminary Final.

Mosman posted 7-120 with Johan Botha 46 off 51 balls and Matthew Day a quick fire 46 from 32 balls pushing them to a defendable total.

Sydney had five players get starts but no one could do better than Harry Dalton (31 from 35 balls) as they fell ten runs short of victory.

Matthew Day bowled brilliantly for Mosman with figures of 4-20 from four overs.

However Mosman couldn’t continue their good form in the final and finished as runners up via a three-run defeat.

Harry Solomons from Kingsgrove Sports presented Northern District with $12,000 for winning the competition and presented $4000 to the runners up Mosman.

Daniel Hughes was named player of the final by the umpires.

For full scorecards, tables and statistics from the McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket Competition and the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup, please visit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s