Perry named in ICC Women’s team of the year



Sydney Sixers WBBL Captain Ellyse Perry has capped off a remarkable last 12 months by being named in the first ever International Cricket Council’s women’s team of the year.
Perry was named in the squad alongside fellow Southern Stars player and captain  Meg Lanning.
Perry has hit the ground running in WBBL 02 with scores of 42 and 45 not out. This carries on from her form in the recent ODI series against the touring South Africans where she posted scores of 93 not out, 95 not out, 69 and 56 in four innings.
In the last calendar year she has scored an impressive 342 runs at 48.85 and has also collected 12 wickets.

The Sydney Sixers captain is one of the premier all rounders in the world of women’s cricket and her selection in the ICC team of the year justifies this. Her 17 half centuries in the last 23 innings have set her apart as one of the best batters in the world.
Not to be forgotten is her bowling which has been just as effective collecting 30 wickets at an average of 27.46

Not being limited to just ODI’s, Perry has averaged 37.75 in T20I’s over the past 12 months and has chipped in with a tidy return of nine wickets.
Back in November Perry said that getting to play more cricket and having time to focus on her game has helped her hit a purple patch of form in International cricket “We are able to be playing a lot more so there is more opportunity to be involved in games, and we have more and more training camps as a team”

Perry is currently ranked #2 in the ODI batting rankings and #7 bowling. She is also the number #1 ranked T20 all-rounder and number #2 ODI all-rounder in the world.

The side was selected by a group of experienced cricketing brains trust with Australian Mel Jones, former England captain Clare Connor and former India player Shubhangi Kulkarni, based on performances between 14 September 2015 and 20 September 2016.

ICC Women’s Team of the Year:Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand) (wk), Smriti Mandhana (India), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies) (c), Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (England), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Sune Luus (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Kim Garth (12th) (Ireland)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s