Kingsgrove Sports T20 Finalists Confirmed

Brad Haddin 1.jpg

The finalists for the Kingsgrove Cup T20 competition have been confirmed after the semi-finals were completed on Sunday.  

Northern District and Parramatta (Sydney Thunder Conference) and Mosman and Sydney (Sydney Sixers Conference) have all made it through to the Conference finals to be held at the Sydney Cricket Ground next Sunday.

The winners of the two Conference finals will then face off against one another in the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Final commencing at 6.30pm under lights.

Northern District booked their spot in the finals with an impressive win over Hawkesbury via the bowling trio of NSW Blues squad member Harry Conway, Matthew Phillips and Ross Pawson.

Conway was the pick of the bowlers with 3-17 from 4 overs as Hawkesbury could only muster 98 off 15.1 overs.

Northern District cruised their way to 4-102 in the 15th over with Sydney Sixers squad member Brad Haddin the standout with the bat scoring 45 not out from 31 balls with six fours and one six.

Northern District will face Parramatta who achieved victory on the back of a whirlwind innings by Sydney Sixers squad member Sean Abbott.

Set 154 to win against Bankstown at Old Kings Oval, Parramatta reached the target with still 10 balls to spare.

Abbott was the star hammering 91 off 53 balls with five fours and six sixes. Abbott had a good all round game finishing with tidy figures of 0-26 off four overs with the ball and also effecting a run out.

The Sixers Conference Final will see Mosman and Sydney lock horns after they collected victories on Sunday as well.

Mosman chased down St George’s 129 with Captain Scott Rodgie hitting 60 runs off 56 balls with three fours and three sixes. Rodgie passed 300 runs in the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup this season and broke the previous run record held by Phillip Wells of 294 runs set back in the 2014-2015 season.

Mosman recorded the victory with two balls to spare.

Sydney booked their place at the SCG with an emphatic win over Newcastle at Drummoyne Oval.

Sydney blasted their way to a massive 4-209 from its 20 overs after their top three batsmen all scored half centuries.

Captain Daniel Smith continued his great form in the T20 format hitting 57 off just 23 balls with eight fours and three sixes. His innings went for just 23 minutes.

He was ably supported by some fellow big hitting as former English international Joe Denly scored 56 off 38 balls with two fours and three sixes and first drop batsman Anthony Mosca joined in on the fun with a quick fire 51 from 31 balls with five fours and two sixes.

Set the daunting task of scoring 210 to make the final, Newcastle only managed 9-149 from its 20 overs with Nathan Sowter 3-7 off just 2.1 overs the best of the Sydney bowlers.

The program for Sunday’s (18 December) finals are as follows:

Sydney Sixers Conference (11:00am)

Mosman v Sydney

Sydney Thunder Conference (2:30pm)

Northern District v Parramatta

Kingsgrove Sports T20 Final: 6:30pm

Winner Sixers Conference v Winner Thunder Conference

For full scorecards, tables and statistics from the McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket Competition, please visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s