NSW Squads announced for CBA Country Championships


Illawarra’s big summer of cricket is set to continue in early January with the CBA (Commonwealth Bank Australia) Australian Country Championships to be hosted in Wollongong from the 3-11 January, 2016.  
Having already had Test stars such as Pat Cummins and Ed Cowan involved with the Toyota Futures League match in Wollongong two weeks ago as well as a Sheffield Shield match scheduled for late February there is no shortage of quality cricket in the Illawarra region over the coming months.
Some of the nation’s best country cricketers will descend on grounds around in the Illawarra for nine days of absorbing cricket with six teams in action.

In a ground breaking announcement, this is to be the first time that NSW has entered a Country Women’s team in the competition. The women’s Country Championships will run through 6-11 January, 2016.

The squad is as follows:

Lisa Griffith © (Western)
Laura Avard (Central Northern)
Katelyn Beaumont (North Coastal)
Rebecca Cady (Western)
Amy Edgar (Western)
Kate Jackson (North Coastal)
Tiegan Kavanagh (Central Coast)
Matilda Lugg (North Coastal)
Synetta Manns (Central Northern/Newcastle)
Grace McDonald (North Coastal)
Melissa Norup (North Coastal)
Amy Riddell (North Coastal)
Kelly Rowlings (Southern ACT)
Roxsanne Van-Veen (Western)

The team officials are:

Neil McDonald – Coach (Newcastle)
Carolyn “Russian” Sheehan – Assistant Coach/Manager (Western),
Jessica Stoll – Physio (Riverina)
Allison Brockley – Scorer (Illawarra).

The Men’s team have six new players including Captain Peter Gallichan who are hoping to improve on last year’s performance where NSW finished in 5th place with three wins from its five games.
The men’s Country Championships will run through the 3-11 January, 2016.

The squad is as follows:

Peter Gallichan © (Central Coast)
Tom Allen (Newcastle)
Djali Bloomfield (Southern ACT)
Pat Darwen (Newcastle)
Nick Foster (Newcastle)
Keiran Gray (Southern ACT)
Tom Groth (Central Northern)
Kaine Harmsworth (Central Coast)
Jarryd Hatton (Riverina)
Ben Mitchell (Southern ACT)
Jordan Moran (Western)
Jonathan Nicoll (ACT)
Joe Price (Newcastle)
Cameron Suidgeest (Southern ACT)

The team officials are:

Jeff Cook – Coach (Central Northern)
Robbie Jackson – Assistant Coach (Riverina),
Llew Scott – Physio (Illawarra)
David Redden – Scorer  (Newcastle)

Cricket NSW congratulates all of the players selected for this wonderful achievement and wish them the best of luck.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s